Division of Lands and Minerals Contacts

Lands and Minerals Division Administration

St. Paul Office
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4045
phone 651-259-5959
fax 651-296-5939

Jess Richards, Director
jess.richards@state.mn.us
 

Kathy Lewis, Assistant Director
kathy.lewis@state.mn.us

Hibbing Office
1525 3rd Avenue East
Hibbing, MN 55746
phone 218-231-8443
fax 218-262-7328

Peter Clevenstine, Assistant Director
peter.clevenstine@state.mn.us

Note: For all Division publication requests, please contact us by email at min.lam@state.mn.us or through the Hibbing Office contact information, above.


Appraisal Management Unit Supervisor
Cindy Nathan
1601 Minnesota Drive
Brainerd, MN 56401
Ph. 218-855-5126
fax 218-833-8668
cindy.nathan@state.mn.us

Drill Core Library and Building Maintenance
To arrange for a time to visit the DNR Drill Core Library or for explorers who wish to deliver core to the Library please contact:

Doug Rosnau
Hibbing Office
218-231-8468; fax 218-262-7328
douglas.rosnau@state.mn.us

Mineral Operations
Seeks technical and entrepreneurial innovation that will stimulate mineral development; builds state-private partnerships to further mineral development; demonstrates technical and economic feasibility of new mineral commodity production systems. Monitors mineral exploration and mining on state-owned lands. 

Jim Sellner, Principal Engineer
Hibbing Office
218-231-8470; fax 218-262-7328
James.Sellner@state.mn.us

Fiscal Management
Ann Rau, Acting Business Manager
St. Paul Office
651-259-5415; fax 651-296-5939
ann.mary.rau@state.mn.us

Information Systems
Perry Canton, Supervisor
St. Paul Office
651-259-5381; fax 651-296-5939
perry.canton@state.mn.us

Dale Cartwright, Lead
Hibbing Office
218-231-8442; fax 218-262-7328
dale.cartwright@state.mn.us

Land Exchanges
Kate Giel, Program Coordinator
St. Paul Office
651-259-5377; fax 651-297-3517
katherine.giel@state.mn.us

Land Acquisitions
Patricia Kandakai, Realty Supervisor
St. Paul Office
651-259-5398; fax 651-297-3517
patricia.kandakai@state.mn.us

Lands & Minerals Transactions
The Transactions Section is responsible for handling and completing land acquisitions, land exchanges, land sales, and surface and mineral leases. We also have expertise in handling land and water crossing licenses and easements, as well as performing land and mineral ownership title work.

Susan Damon, Transaction Manager
St. Paul Office
651-259-5961 : fax 651-297-3517
susan.damon@state.mn.us

Land Surveys
Steve Feesl, Supervisor
St. Paul Office
651-259-5387; fax 651-296-5939
steve.feesl@state.mn.us

Mineral Potential
Advise the DNR on managing the state's mineral estate in the best interest of the Permanent School Trust, University Trust, and Tax Forteit Trust. Evaluates mineral potential of state lands including industrial minerals such as sand and gravel. Develops and compiles mineral resource information for distribution to the public and mineral exploration companies. Conducts and contracts innovative geologic field work to identify mineral potential areas. Monitors exploratory drilling on state and private lands. 

Dennis Martin, Manager
St. Paul Office
651-259-5405; fax 651-297-3517
dennis.martin@state.mn.us

Mineland Reclamation
Administers the state's metallic and peat mineland reclamation programs; reviews applications for permits to mine; administers the division's responsibilities under the Minnesota Environmental Policy Act, including the review of minerals projects for impacts.

Jennifer Engstrom, Manager
St. Paul Office
651-259-5385; fax 651-296-5939
jennifer.engstrom@state.mn.us

Regional Operations
Represents the Lands and Minerals as the point of contact in each region in directing, coordinating, and monitoring land transactions and mineral resource management efforts. For more information and a map of the regions, see the Regional Operations page.

Region 1 - Northwest Minnesota
Cindy Buttleman
cindy.buttleman@state.mn.us
2115 Birchmont Beach Rd, NE
Bemidji, MN 56601
218-308-2627; fax 281-755-4066

Region 2 - Northeast Minnesota
Joe Rokala
joe.rokala@state.mn.us
1201 East Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
218-999-7894; fax 218-327-4263

Region 3 - Central Minnesota
Trina Zieman
trina.zieman@state.mn.us
1200 Warner Road
St. Paul, MN 55106
651-259-5792; fax 651-772-7977

Region 4 - Southern Minnesota
Bob Hobart
bob.hobart@state.mn.us
261 Highway 15 South
New Ulm, MN 56073-8915
507-359-6071; fax 507-359-6018