Fishing

Lakes


Spicer area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Spicer location

10590 County Road 8 NE
P.O. Box 457
Spicer, MN 56288
320-796-2161
spicer.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish in Swift, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Yellow Medicine, northern Lyon and eastern Lac Qui Parle counties benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Spicer area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Dave Coahran and a staff of six full-time employees manage 40 fishing lakes and 200 miles of rivers and streams. These waters include popular fishing destinations sucLicense Dollars At Workh as Green Lake, Lake Koronis and Foot Lake along with numerous small- and medium-sized glacial and prairie lakes known for excellent bass, walleye, northern pike and panfish angling.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

The Spicer crew takes walleye eggs at the New London hatchery.

The Spicer crew takes walleye eggs at the New London hatchery.

  • Collecting and providing millions of walleye eggs for statewide hatching operations. This includes hatching 45 to 60 million walleye fry each year that are stocked in local managed lakes and rearing ponds for the statewide fingerling stocking program.
  • Producing 5,000 to 15,000 lbs. of walleye fingerlings from rearing ponds for area and statewide stocking needs.
  • Rearing up to 7,000 muskellunge fall fingerlings for statewide stocking needs.
  • Stocking 38 lakes with various sizes of walleye and other fish species as needed to enhance game fish populations.
  • Providing environmental education to more than 3,000 people at area schools, environmental learning centers and events.
  • Conducting annual fish surveys, aquatic habitat inventories and special assessments on 20 or more lakes.

Lake Surveys and research provide the information used to select appropriate management tools, such as: protecting and restoring habitats and water quality; regulating the harvest; stocking and public education.

New London Hatchery

Contact our Spicer staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Dave Coahran Area supervisor 320-796-2161 dave.coahran@state.mn.us
Brad Carlson Assistant area supervisor 320-796-2161 brad.carlson@state.mn.us
Jeff Tellock Fisheries specialist (new london hatchery) 320-796-2161 jeff.tellock@state.mn.us
Gary May Fisheries specialist 320-796-2161 gary.may@state.mn.us
Barry Flanders Fisheries technician 320-796-2161 barry.flanders@state.mn.us
Nathan Johnson Fisheries technician 320-796-2161 nathan.johnson@state.mn.us
Kala Kaehler Office administrative specialist 320-796-2161 kala.kaehler@state.mn.us