Fishing

Lakes


Ortonville area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Ortonville location

811 Pine Street
Ortonville, MN 56278
320-839-2656
ortonville.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish near the headwaters of the Minnesota River in Traverse, Big Stone, western Lac Qui Parle, western Swift, western Yellow Medicine and northern Lincoln counties benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Ortonville area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Chris Domeier and a staff of five full-time employees manage 50 fishing lakes and 2,000 miles of rivers and streams. Those waters include popular fishLicense Dollars At Working destinations such as the Big Stone, Lac Qui Parle and Traverse lakes – shallow productive fisheries that produce abundant yellow perch, walleyes, northern pike and panfish.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

An Ortonville fisheries crew at work along a western Minnesota river.

An Ortonville fisheries crew at work along a western Minnesota river.

  • Conducting 25 assessments of fish populations annually and providing this information to stakeholders.
  • Stocking area waters with walleye, northern pike, lake sturgeon, panfish and trout.
  • Operating 40 rearing ponds to produce walleye fingerlings, yearlings and adults to meet statewide stocking needs.
  • Partnering with stakeholders on fish habitat projects, including the Marsh Lake Ecosystem Restoration Project, dam removals, spawning areas and shoreline stabilizations.
  • Coordinating management of border waters with the South Dakota Game Fish & Parks Department.
  • Providing fish for county fair displays and school educational events.

Contact our Ortonville staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Chris Domeier Ortonville area fisheries supervisor 320-839-2656 chris.domeier@state.mn.us
Kyle Anderson Ortonville assistant area fisheries supervisor 320-839-2656 kyle.anderson@state.mn.us
BJ Bauer Fisheries specialist 320-839-2656 bj.bauer@state.mn.us
Doug Pierzina Fisheries technician 320-839-2656 doug.pierzina@state.mn.us
Jeff Malzahn Fisheries technician 320-839-2656 jeff.malzahn@state.mn.us
Noelle Haukos Office administrative specialist 320-839-2656 noelle.haukos@state.mn.us