Fishing

Lakes


Little Falls area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Little Falls location

16543 Haven Road
Little Falls, MN 56345
320-616-2450
littlefalls.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish in Benton, Morrison, Mille Lacs and Todd county benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Little Falls area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Eric Altena and a staff of four full-time and two part-timeLicense Dollars At Work employees manage 90 fishing lakes and 471 miles of rivers and streams. These waters include popular fishing destinations such as Alexander, Big Birch and Shamineau lakes plus portions of the Mississippi, Crow Wing, Rum and Sauk rivers.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

Fisheries staff monitors erosion and fish habitat degradation on Little Rock Creek.

Fisheries staff monitors erosion and fish habitat degradation on Little Rock Creek.

  • Stock two water bodies with pure-strain muskellunge.
  • Stock 38 lakes with walleye fry or fingerlings.
  • Produce and stock 1,500-5,000 lbs. of walleye fingerlings each year.
  • Produce up to 5,000 muskelunge fingerlings each year.
  • Provide fish for two county fair displays.
  • Provide support for watershed districts and youth education efforts.

Contact our Little Falls staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Eric Altena Area supervisor 320-616-2450, Ext. 225 eric.altena@state.mn.us
Brady Becker Assistant area supervisor 320-616-2450, Ext. 226 brady.becker@state.mn.us
Steve Marod Fishereis specialist 320-616-2450, Ext. 239 steve.marod@state.mn.us
Tanner Stevens Fisheris specialist 320-616-2450, Ext. 227 tanner.stevens@state.mn.us
Larry Zimmerman Fisheries technician 320-616-2450, Ext. 247 larry.zimmerman@state.mn.us
Audrey Kuchinski Aquatic plant specialist 320-616-2450, Ext. 235 audrey.kuchinski@state.mn.us
Roxi Lukasavitz Office administrative specialist 320-616-2450, Ext. 221 roxi.lukasavitz@state.mn.us