Fishing

Lakes


Detroit Lakes area fisheries

Office address

Map of Detroit Lakes work area

14583 County Highway 19
Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
218-846-8280
detroitlakes.fisheries@state.mn.us

Minnesota map showing Detroit Lakes location

Anglers who fish in Becker, Clay, Mahnomen, Norman, Polk and Red Lake county areas benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Detroit Lakes area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Nathan Olson and a staff of six full-time and three part-time employees manage 151 fishing lakes and more than 1,500 miles of rivers and streams. Those waters include popular fishing destinations such as nearby Detroit Lake, the Cormorant lLicense Dollars At Workakes area, White Earth and portions of the Red River.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

Detroit Lakes area staff stocking Lake Sturgeon fingerlings in Clay County's Buffalo River.

Detroit Lakes area staff stocking Lake Sturgeon fingerlings in Clay County's Buffalo River.

  • The production and stocking of 200,000 Lake Sturgeon fry from the Detroit Lakes Fish Hatchery has been suspended, which is an integral part of the restoration of Lake Sturgeon in the Red River Basin.
  • Fewer fish stocked because staff and resources will not be sufficient to complete operations such as re-stocking lakes that have winter killed, harvest of Walleye from rearing ponds, and stocking kids fishing ponds.
  • Anglers will have less information about the lake and stream resources they use, because fewer biological surveys and assessments will be completed.
  • Minnow harvest will not be completed as often as needed. This will reduce the number of fingerling Muskellunge produced from the Detroit Lakes rearing pond due to the lack of food.
  • Fewer seasonal staff to assist in the operation of the Detroit Lakes Fish Hatchery, which may reduce the amount of Walleye produced from the facility.

Contact our Detroit Lakes staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Nathan Olson Area supervisor 218-846-8280 nathan.olson@state.mn.us
Mandy Erickson Assistant area supervisor 218-846-8280 mandy.erickson@state.mn.us
Mike Habrat Fisheries specialist 218-846-8280 mike.habrat@state.mn.us
Tyler Fellows Fisheries specialist 218-846-8280 tyler.fellows@state.mn.us
Joel Jokela Fisheries techniian 218-846-8280 joel.jokela@state.mn.us
Krysta Lipton Office administrative specialist 218-846-8280 krysta.lipton@state.mn.us