Waterville Area Fisheries

Management


Waterville area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Waterville location

50317 Fish Hatchery Road
Waterville, MN 56096-0086
507-362-4223
waterville.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish in Le Sueur, Rice, Steele, Blue Earth, Dodge, Freeborn, Mower, Faribault and Waseca counties benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Waterville area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Craig Soupir and a staff of six full-time and one part-time employee manage 120 fishing lakes and 107 rivers and streams. These waters include popular fishing destinaLicense Dollars At Worktions such as the Cannon River Chain of Lakes, Madison Lake and Washington Lake. Each is popular for abundant panfish, largemouth bass, walleye and northern pike.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

A Waterville area fisheries biologist releasing fry.

A Waterville area fisheries biologist releasing fry.

  • Collecting and incubating up to 5 million northern pike eggs, hatching the eggs and holding fry to swim-up stage. Northern pike fry are stocked into Waterville Area lakes and rearing ponds and several lakes in the Windom and Hutchinson area.
  • Up to 75 percent of all muskellunge stocked in Minnesota pass through Waterville hatching and rearing operations at some life stage. Muskellunge are stocked in French Lake in the Waterville area as well as transported to lakes and rivers throughout the state.
  • Incubating 65 million walleye eggs and hatching 30 to 45 million walleye fry. Walleye of various life stages are stocked in Waterville area lakes and rearing ponds.
  • Managing and maintaining displays at seven county fairs during July and August, including the Steele County Fair which is one of the largest in the state.
  • Monitoring winter dissolved oxygen in up to 40 lakes and restocking lakes significantly impacted by winterkill using various fish species not produced at the hatchery including bluegill, black crappie, largemouth bass and yellow perch.
  • Developing and revising fisheries management plans for 120 lakes, 107 rivers and streams and nearly 2,000 acres of Aquatic Management Areas ranging in size from less than one acre to 300 acres covering 10 miles of shoreline on 27 lakes.

Contact our Waterville staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Craig Soupir Area supervisor 507-362-4223, Ext. 222 craig.soupir@state.mn.us
Brandon Eder Assistant area supervisor 507-362-4223, Ext. 225 brandon.eder@state.mn.us
Andrew Scholten Fisheries specialist - hatchery 507-362-4223, Ext. 231 andrew.scholten@state.mn.us
Skyler Wigen Fisheries specialist 507-362-4223, Ext. 224 skyler.wigen@state.mn.us
Kip Rounds Fisheries specialist 507-362-4223, Ext. 223 kip.rounds@state.mn.us
Peter Muggli Fishereis techniian 507-362-4223, Ext. 232 peter.muggli@state.mn.us
Amy Roemhildt Office administrative specialist 507-362-4223, Ext. 221 amy.roemhildt@state.mn.us
Steve Shroyer Fisheries research scientist 507-362-4223, Ext. 227 steve.shroyer@state.mn.us
Dale Logsdon Fisheries research biologist 507-362-4223, Ext. 228 dale.logsdon@state.mn.us