Snowmobile registration procedures & fees

Registration procedures

The State of Minnesota requires only a current registration on snowmobiles. At this time, you do not need a certificate of title for your snowmobile.

Two options for snowmobile registration

  • A snowmobile may now be registered for trail use or non-trail use.
  • The trail use registration fee is $78.50 for 3 years and includes unlimited use of Minnesota's 22,000 miles of state and grant-in-aid trails.
  • The non-trail use registration fee is $48.50 for 3 years and is not transferable. A snowmobile that is registered for non-trail use may NOT be operated on a state or grant-in-aid trail including a grant-in-aid trail in a road right-of-way.
  • A non-trail use registration requires a new registration number to be affixed to the snowmobile.
  • A state trail sticker is not valid for use on a non-trail use registered snowmobile.
  • If an individual wants to use a non-trail use registered snowmobile on a state or grant-in-aid trail, the snowmobile will need to be re-registered for trail use and a new registration number will be assigned.
  • A non-trail use registration decal will be yellow in color.

New in 2014: Snowmobile definition
"Snowmobile" means a self-propelled vehicle originally manufactured and designed for travel on snow or ice steered by skis or runners. Snowmobile does not include the following vehicles equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations:

  • An all-terrain vehicle
  • An off-highway motorcycle
  • An off-road vehicle
  • A mini truck
  • A utility task vehicle, or any other vehicle being operated off road.

Register your new snowmobile:

Renew your snowmobile registration:

  • In person at any deputy registrar of motor vehicles (where you license your car) or at the DNR License Bureau in St. Paul (500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN).
  • Online using the online licensing system.
  • If you are not the registered owner a person may renew for you only if they have the DNR generated renewal notice or, they must provide a Consent to Renew Registration form or show proof of being the Power of Attorney.
  • Consent to Renew Registration form This is a PDF file. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to download it.

Duplicate snowmobile safety cards are available:

Forms

Fees

 

Snowmobile registration fees
Type of transaction Fee Issuing fee Duration
Trail use registration 75.00 3.50 3 fiscal years
Non-trail use registration 45.00 3.50 3 fiscal years
Renewal - trail use registration 75.00 3.50 3 fiscal years
Renewal - non-trail use registration 45.00 3.50 3 fiscal years
Transfer - trail use registration only 10.00 3.50  
Collector registration (unlimited use)  6.00  3.50  Non-expiring
Renewal & transfer - trail use registration 85.00 3.50  
Duplicate registration card 10.00 3.50  
Duplicate registration decal only 0.00 1.50  
Dealer's registration (new or renewal) 50.00 3.50 1 year
Manufacturer's registration (new or renewal) 150.00 3.50 1 year

Annual State Trail sticker

35.00 1.00 Nov.1 - Apr.30
Annual State Trail sticker (Penalty) 70.00 1.00 Nov.1 - Apr.30