Snowmobile safety training

Certification required by law for residents born after December 31, 1976. Snowmobile Safety patch

Youth Certification

ATTENTION:  There are now two options for Youth Snowmobile Safety certification.  A ‘TRADITIONAL COURSE’ or a ‘CD BASED COURSE’.  Both courses cover snowmobile safety, operation, and laws.  You must choose one OR the other.

1) TRADITIONAL COURSE

  • Youth ages 11-15
  • Meets two or more times
  • Eight hours minimum classroom
  • Includes a riding performance course
  • Lead by trained volunteer instructors
  • Certificate becomes valid at age 12

Click here for a list of TRADITIONAL SNOWMOBILE SAFETY classes in your area.

2) NEW CD BASED COURSE

  • Youth ages 11-15
  • Meets twice at the most (typically)
  • Students obtain a free CD from the DNR or instructors
  • Student completes the CD at home
  • Student attends a one day class room review and riding performance course
  • Lead by trained volunteer instructors
  • Certificate becomes valid at age 12

Click here for a list of CD SNOWMOBILE SAFETY classes in your area.


Adult Certification (ages 16 and up)

Minnesota requires snowmobile certification by law for anyone born after December 31, 1976.   Adult snowmobile safety certification is for snowmobile operators age 16 and over.
 

  • Must obtain and complete the DNR Adult Independent Study CD
  • Or may complete a Youth Snowmobile Certification class

The adult course is designed to show the student the most common causes for snowmobile accidents in Minnesota, and how to avoid becoming an accident statistic.  Upon successful completion of the Snowmobile Safety Independent Study CD, the student prints a "Temporary Adult Snowmobile Certificate." They mail in the $10 course fee along with a copy of the 'Temporary Certificate' to Camp Ripley.

To obtain the Snowmobile Safety Training CD, or for general information, please call (888) 646-6367, (651) 296-6157, or (800) 366-8917, or email your name and address to info.dnr@state.mn.us.
Duplicate snowmobile certificates can be obtained by calling (888) 646-6367 or (651) 296-6157. There is a $5 replacement fee.

Snowmobile Laws and Regulations for Youth and Adults

**ATTENTION: If you experience problems completing the CD, please print this page This is a PDF file. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to download it. of tips and Frequently Asked Questions to assist you.