Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area Program

Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area Program

The Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area (MRCCA) is a joint state, regional and local program that provides coordinated planning and management for the 72 mile stretch of the Mississippi River through the seven-county metropolitan area and 54,000 acres of surrounding land across 30 local jurisdictions. The MRCCA shares a boundary with the Mississippi National River and Recreation Area (MNRRA), This link leads to an external site.a unit of the National Park Service.

The MRCCA was designated a state critical area in 1976 to protect its many unique natural and cultural resources and values. These resources and values are protected through development standards and criteria implemented via local land use plans and zoning ordinances.

The MRCCA is home to a full range of residential neighborhoods and parks, as well as river-related commerce, industry, and transportation. Though the river corridor has been extensively developed, many intact and remnant natural areas remain, including bluffs, islands, floodplains, wetlands, riparian zones, and native aquatic and terrestrial flora and fauna.

The MRCCA is cooperatively managed by:

New Rules Regulating the MRCCA

Rules for the Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area were published on December 27, 2016. These rules replaced an Executive Order that guided development in the corridor from 1976 to 2016. The DNR is coordinating with the Metropolitan Council to implement the new rules through locally adopted plans and ordinances. Implementation will be phased in over the next five years. Until local governments update their MRCCA ordinances to comply with the new rules, their existing MRCCA ordinances and districts will remain in effect. Citizens should contact their local government to find out what applies to their property.


Dan Petrik, Land Use Specialist, 651-259-5697