Boat & Water Safety Education
Complete the online boating safety course Boat Minnesota to receive a youth Minnesota watercraft operator's permit (12 to 17 years old).
In addition, this course may be required for youth and adults plan on boating in Canada.
Adults wishing to learn more about boating safety are encouraged to take the course and maybe eligible for a discount on boat insurance —check with your insurance agent. There is a $22.50 fee after passing the exam to receive your youth or adult watercraft operator's permit.
This free Boat Operator's Course and Test Packet is used primarily by children ages 12-17 to earn their watercraft operator's permit.
In addition, this course may be required for youth and adults who plan on boating in Canada.
Adults wishing to learn more about boating safety are encouraged to take the course and maybe eligible for a discount on boat insurance —check with your insurance agent. This course is free.
Learn more about boating and water safety.
Organizations such as; the DNR, U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, U.S. Power Squadrons and local school districts have free or low cost education programs and publications available. Some of these courses meet the requirements for the youth and adult Minnesota watercraft operator's permit. Several classroom courses are listed below or to find the class closest to you call BOAT/U.S. at (800) 336-BOAT (toll free).
Minnesota Boating Guide
The Minnesota Boating Guide (2.8 Mb) summarizes Minnesota's boating laws and regulations in an easy-to-read form. It supplies the information that most boaters need to know about operating watercraft on the state's lakes and rivers. Look at the boating and water recreation regulations pages for other laws.
Find more events.