Minnesota Biological Survey Staff

Plant Surveys: Plant Ecologists conduct surveys of native plant communities and evaluate sites with native vegetation. Botanists conduct surveys for rare plant species within targeted counties or ecological units.
Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Carlson, Bruce

MBS Supervisor

651-259-5083

bruce.carlson@state.mn.us

Statewide

Texler, Hannah

Plant Survey Supervisor

651-259-5048

hannah.texler@state.mn.us

Statewide

Anderson, Chel

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-475-0147

chel.anderson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Anderson, Derek

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5071

derek.anderson@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Graham, Dustin

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5640

dustin.graham@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Harris, Fred

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5084

fred.harris@state.mn.us

Lac Qui Parle Prairie, Northwestern MN

Holmstrom, Rebecca

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763

rebecca.holmstrom@state.mn.us

St. Louis County portions of Littlefork-Vermilion Uplands, Borderlakes Subsections

Johnson, Jason

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5150

jason.johnson@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection

Lee, Jeff

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext 227

jeffrey.lee@state.mn.us

Border Lakes Subsection ,Littlefork-Vermilion Uplands, and Agassiz Lowlands Subsections of Koochiching County

Lee, Michael

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

320-223-7849

michael.lee@state.mn.us

Blufflands and Border Lakes Subsections

Millaway, Courtney

Aquatic Botanist

320-223-7843

courtney.millaway@state.mn.us

Statewide

Perry, Ethan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

218-723-4763
ext. 226

ethan.perry@state.mn.us

Tamarack Lowlands

Rowe, Erika

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5134

erika.rowe@state.mn.us

Koochiching, Lake of the Woods counties

Smith, Welby

Botanist

651-259-5142

welby.smith@state.mn.us

Southeastern MN

Wovcha, Dan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5154

daniel.wovcha@state.mn.us

 

Bosacker, Laura

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5133

laura.bosacker@state.mn.us

Statewide

Dahlberg, Nathan

Plant Ecologist/Botanist

651-259-5726

nathan.dahlberg@state.mn.us

Statewide

Animal Surveys: Zoologists conduct surveys for rare animals within targeted counties or ecological units; animal groups (and the specialists that work with them) include mammals (mammalogists), birds (ornithologists), amphibians and reptiles (herpetologists), fishes (ichthyologists), and insects (entomologists).
Staff Title Phone Email Current focus of field work

Nordquist, Gerda

Animal Survey Supervisor/Mammalogist

651-259-5124

gerda.nordquist@state.mn.us

Statewide

Boyd, Crystal

Entomologist/Bee Specialist

651-259-5699

crystal.boyd@state.mn.us

Statewide

Dana, Robert

Entomologist/Prairie Ecologist

651-259-5086

robert.dana@state.mn.us

Prairie Region

Dunlap, Bob

Zoologist/Data Specialist

651-259-5141

bob.dunlap@state.mn.us

Statewide

Edwards, Margaret

Zoologist/Data Specialist

651-259-5128

margaret.r.edwards@state.mn.us

Statewide

Gillen Ashling, Jenn

Zoologist/Data Assistant

651-259-5163

jenn.gillen@state.mn.us

Statewide

Hall, Carol

Herpetologist

651-259-5099

carol.hall@state.mn.us

Statewide

Johnson, Kyle

Entomologist

651-259-5124

kyle.johnson@state.mn.us

LeClere, Jeff

Zoologist/Amphibian and Reptile Specialist

651-259-5161

jeff.leclere@state.mn.us

Statewide

Spak, Christi

Zoologist/Mammal Specialist

651-259-5145

christi.spak@state.mn.us

Statewide

Stucker, Steve

Ornithologist

651-259-5103

steve.stucker@state.mn.us

Statewide

Support Staff:

GIS Support Specialist facilitates the mapping of data within a Geographic Information System
Information Officer conceptualizes and coordinates the graphical representation of field and biological data

Staff Title Phone Email

Richardson, Bart

GIS Support Specialist

651-259-5796

bart.richardson@state.mn.us

 

Cruz, Jared

GIS Support Specialist

651-259-5093

jared.cruz@state.mn.us

 

Klein, Tom

Information Officer/Graphic Artist

651-259-5112

tom.klein@state.mn.us

Map of ecological sections and subsections of Minnesota.